APSS Organisation

  APSS is managed by a Committee, elected by the members, consisting of a Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, Membership Secretary and one other Working Member. In addition Section Leaders or Representatives elected from within the various groups within APSS also serve on the committee.

There are other groups within the society, each responsible for different activities.


APSS Committee or Trustees

Chairman Bob Thomson  
Treasurer Brian Colthorpe  
Secretary Mike Harper  
Membership Sec. Alan Manning  
Fundraising/ Editor Fortune Teller   Gerard Lohan      

Ordinary Members


Radio & Radar Representative Lindsay Lees    
History Workshop Representative Barrie Hardy  
Strutter Representative   Evan Pole    


This team meets on both Wednesdays and Thursdays on the new-build Sopwith Strutter project. Some of this team work on other Museum or APSS projects on Wednesdays then on the Strutter on Thursday.

Gliding Group

The T53 glider, owned by APSS, is flown by this group from Portmoak Airfield, near Kinross.








The APSS is a registered charity in Scotland, charity No. SC048150
A member of Aviation Heritage UK